Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Decorating help – what is this stuff and how to deal with it?
  • grum
    Free Member

The house we bought was mostly covered in fairly hideous textured wallpaper, which we’ve been stripping. There was a layer of paper underneath the textured stuff then this what was underneath.

What we would like is just a plain surface for painting but it has all these bobbles on it. What’s the simplest/cheapest way of getting a flat surface – are we going to have to get it plastered over? It’s in a hallway/stairs so not the easiest place for plastering.

As you can probably tell I’m no expert – any advice welcome, cheers! 🙂

mssansserif
    Free Member

Keep scraping till you get to the bare wall

parkesie
    Free Member

Death to artex.

bradley
    Free Member

That’s hideous. Kill it with fire.

ads678

Get it skimmed, only way you’ll get a good surface from that I’d have thought.

divenwob
    Free Member

Just another layer of paper,carry on scraping!

slowpuncheur
    Free Member

Go at it with an industrial stripper from a hire place. If that doesn’t shift it, get it skimmed.

grum
    Free Member

Thanks folks. Pretty sure it’s not just another layer of paper – it seems very hard.

schrickvr6
    Free Member

Looks like anaglypta.

Bunnyhop

Yes just another layer of 1980’s stylee wallpaper.
    You’ll end up with a bigger space at this rate.

thepurist

Score it steam it and strip it. There’s plaster under there somewhere!

tinribz
    Free Member

Pop another layer up over the top,think of how much you’ll save on central heating.

grum
    Free Member

I really don’t think it’s wallpaper! If it is it’s the hardest wallpaper ever known.

convert

Bloody baby boom generation – they got the great pensions, the dossy working hours, the free education, the massive house price increase benefits…..and then they left us with this sort of shit to sort out in the name of ‘decoration’.

Go slap a pensioner!

scaredypants