Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Culture Corner – anyone been to any good exhibitions lately then?
  • binners

I’ve been slacking of late. Mainly as there was never anything that really took my fancy. Either I’m getting too old or art is generally getting too ****. I suspect half-way between those two statements is about right.

But I went to see this one on Saturday at the Lowry:

http://www.thelowry.com/event/mister-sixties

Philip Townsend’s Portraits of a Decade. Some absolutely iconic photography. Fantastic. Well worth a visit if you happen to be in the vicinity.

Whats the last exhibition that you really enjoyed then? And is it still on? Where? I fancy a bit more culcha 🙂

King-ocelot
    Free Member

I’m an artist, I make a living from drawing portraits, pets, prized cars etc.., but my heart of heart lies in printmaking.

Going to check out the lowry next week.

skidartist
    Free Member

I fancy checking out the David Nash exhibition at Yorkshire Sculpture Park

CountZero

Last was the RA Summer Exhibition. Really like the look of the new installation in the Tate Modern Turbine Hall. 100 million handmade and painted porcelain sunflower seeds all over the floor that you can walk on. Looks amazing. I love that sort of stuff, like Gormley’s installations.

BillMC

Saw the Marina Abramovic action art exhibition in MOMA at Easter, she’s now doing something in London. Interesting.

vdubber67
    Free Member

skidartist – Member

I fancy checking out the David Nash exhibition at Yorkshire Sculpture Park ooh that looks ace!

Always something cool on at Notts Contemporary

Divagirl
    Free Member

CountZero – Member
    Last was the RA Summer Exhibition.

me too. Did you buy anything CountZero?

binners

skidartist – I saw one of David Nash’s exhibitions when I was doing my foundation course (in about 1923) and was really impressed with it then. That looks fantastic though!

tails
    Free Member