Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Car broken down – busted turbo?
  • Garry_Lager

Missus driving home from work in a seat leon tdi. Loud bang, black smoke out the back, car limps over to the hard shoulder. AA speculated it was a broken turbo. Car still starts and can be driven into a parking space.

Don’t know much about cars; what’s a broken turbo and how much to put it right? Thanks.

hora
    Free Member

Im NOT a mechanic but I wouldnt drive it an inch more. Not even start. Im just worried about oil/oil pressure- thats probably nothing to do with the turbo but that bang could mean anything at this stage IMO. All the best.

john_walker74
    Free Member

Could just be a pipe blown off.

hot_fiat

Sounds like a blown turbo yep. Probably what’s happened is that one of the oil seals inside the turbo has failed, allowing engine oil to escape into the exhaust gas stream. The burning oil in the exhaust system causes the black smoke.

A turbo is a device that uses the energy in the exhust gases to squeeze more air into the engine. More air means you can inject more fuel and so produce more power per revolution.

Unfortunatley, turbochargers are precision instruments and so expensive. They’re not as stupendously expensive to replace as they used to be (grand a piece), but they’re still a nasty shock. I reckon you may be still be looking at £4-500 to recondition your current one and refit it.

jfeb
    Free Member

Don’t drive it. Bits of broken turbo can find their way to places they oughn’t be. If you are lucky it won’t be difficult to access the turbo – on my old car (Audi S4) it was an engine out job and £3k)

coffeeking
    Free Member

Burning oil in the exhaust causes whitey-blue smoke, not black. What is more likely to be happening is your ECU is fueling for more air than is being present due to a knackered turbo, this will produce black smoke on a D. Here is a prime example of oil burning in the exhaust side turbine: