Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • 60 mile round trip commute. Options for recovery during the working day?
  • flanagaj
    Free Member

I have started doing there and back twice a week to work which is 60 miles all in. During the summer I was doing

Monday (Cycle home)
    Tuesday (Cycle In)
    Wed (Cycle Home)
    Thurs (Cycle In)
    Fri (Both ways)

I love the ride and it is so much less stress than driving. 2 hours each way on the bike 1 hour each way in the car.

The issue I am having is that it seems to knacker me. I get to work having cycled at a gentle pace and feel like I could go back to bed. Terrible admission, but I am hoping it’s just a nutrition thing. For example, I get up at 6am, bowl of cereal and then out the door at 645am.

Should I be looking at eating more before setting off or maybe a bar / gel …

Just after possible ideas as I really don’t want to call it a day. I have been doing it for 4 months now and I am not finding it any easier.

lunge

I do a similar commute, though I try and do there and back on the same day twice, maybe 3 times per week. Anyway, here’s what works for me:
    1 banana and an espresso before I leave the house in the morning. I have a gel in my pocket for emergency energy lows but never use it.
    Big bowl of porridge after I’ve showered at work.
    Maybe another banana or an apple mid morning.
    Lunch is a hot bowl of something I make with brown rice, tomatoes and turkey mince (amongst other things).
    Maybe an apple mid afternoon.
    Small sarny or similar before I leave to go home.
    Normal dinner when I get home, low carb, high protein.

But. I am often hungry and kind of accept that. I also often need a strong coffee to get through the morning, again, that’s fine.

flanagaj
    Free Member

That’s very interesting. You eat probably less than I do (weigh 73kg) so that would indicate it isn’t calorie related. Maybe I need to slow the ride down even further.