Viewing 37 posts - 1 through 37 (of 37 total)
  • Workplace installing bike racks – experiences please!
  • robdob
    Free Member

Hi All,
    My workplace has got a quote for installing better bike parking facilities. The cage they are going to be stored in looks really good, but I have no experience of the racks/hooks they have got a quote for.

The first picture in this PDF is the configuration that has been quoted for – any experiences?

http://cycle-works.com//wp-content/products/en/openaccess/individual-racks-vertical/josta-wallrack-vertical/docs/CW_Josta_Wall_Hook.pdf

soma_rich
    Free Member

Looks like a really good use of space to me.

robdob
    Free Member

The quote includes the security bars as seen in the pics, presumably to have something to lock your bike to.

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

Will it fit 650b tyres? 😉

Looks a tidy solution to me, as long as it can be made properly secure. Even in a ‘safe’ work environment, security is key.

parkesie
    Free Member

Everywhere ive worked the bike rack/shed has turned into the smoking area.

thisisnotaspoon
    Free Member

Doesn’t look too bad, at least there’s a hoop to run a lock through and it’s off the flor to getting leverage with boltcropppers will be difficult, but personaly if there’s space I’d ask for sheffield stands set into the floor as the most secure option.

Nothings completely secure though, ours is in a private underground car park under and out of town ofice block (i.e. you’d have to know it was there and make a trip), and the thieves climbed the cage and got in through the 1ft gap at the top where the AC ducts, cable trays, plumbing etc run. Cut the locks, and passed the bikes out over the top.

bigblackshed