Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Work experience/ career progression
  • alwillis

In a fairly small, niche industry, what’s the best way to get your skills in front of those who matter?

I’ve tried a few of the obvious- letters, LinkedIn connections/ messages, chatting to current customers about their connections etc, and my current employer certainly knows a few people, but it’s hard to push your boss to help you get a new job!

I would be happy to even volunteer/ do work experience at a higher level rather than quit the day job, but do people in the hivemind have any good tips as to how to get there??

If it helps I’m a 26 year old graduate not a 45 year old with 20 years in the working world!

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Give it time?
    If your good then people will come to you, however in a small niche industry you can only progress in a couple of ways – industry grows/people move up creating space.
    Go out and do it on your own.
    Is there no progression at your current place? How long have you been there? Whats your skill gap to the next person up? Whats the average experience of the next level up?

alwillis

Maybe patience is the key!

Potential for progression where I am- but I’m not a fan of waiting for my boss to decide when and how!

In terms of skills gap, it seems to be an experience gap rather than qualifications, hence thinking of work experience type ideas

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Potential for progression where I am- but I’m not a fan of waiting for my boss to decide when and how!

That is life. How niche is what you do? You are really waiting for somebody to see that you are what they need but if you end up as a jump every couple of years for a small bump up then it can also work against you unless you are very very good at what you do.