Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • will i regret buying a Trannie Custom instead of the Darling T6?
  • geordiemick00
    Free Member

Looking to buy a new Kombi/Crew van for my business and the label slut in me would obviously drag me to my local VW lifestyle dealer (commercial vehicles) and direct me towards a new VW T6. I went the day before the new registrations came out, the salesman was helpful and using a piece of A4 paper from a printer kindly wrote down some costs..

When asked to view one I was walked around the block to see the sales managers parked off site and literally had the doors opened for me and allowed to pop my head in. On the way back he then proceeded to rip the P out of some customers who were there to pick up one of about 8 brand new highly specified California vans and happily admit they were all just ‘units’ to him and the fact they cost £50k was immaterial to him 🙄

As a salesman myself I have always lived by the mantra of people buy from people they like and this guy was really getting under my skin. So I took my fag packet quote then ran. Tried three other dealers and all but one failed to call me back. A few days later I asked him for a quote for a fairly highly specs’d factory order panel van, which took a week of chasing to get.

I went back one day as I was passing and jumped in the front of a T6 panel van and was appalled at the lack of legroom for the driver, so decided crew van is deffo the way to go.

Today I’ve been to a local Ford dealer who have some new Transit Custom’s in stock and whilst I’m not tempted by the new utterly chav-ish M Sport model which looks like it’s been ram raiding a Halfords/RIPSPEED shop, I did like the fairly well specified Limited edition.

I got some figures and I’m seriously left thinking of any reason to buy the VW.