Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Wi-Fi Help please? Is this router overkill for what I need?
  • thered

I have 2 laptops, a printer, an ipad, an xbox, a sonos stereo with 5 rooms and 3 iphones all running off the wifi in a 3 storey house so on the top floor the connection is sometimes sketchy and I’m getting ip conflict warnings all the time.

I’m not tech savvy so don’t know if I need to replace my cheap old g router and/or if replacing it with this would be taking a sledgehammer to crack a nut.

http://www.netgear.co.uk/home/products/wirelessrouters/ultimate-performance/WNDR4500.aspx#two

Help greatly appreciated.

FuzzyWuzzy

IP conflicts is just something up with how you’re allocating IP addresses, I’d guess the router is doing DHCP but you’ve also given at least one device a static IP address in the DHCP scope range (which basically means the router will issue out that IP address thinking it’s free but it’s not).
    I like Netgear routers for home use but don’t have any experience with the wifi-boost technology that model has, the datasheet mentions it has high power radio amps though to achieve this so whilst would almost certainly give you a better signal upstairs than a bog standard router it wouldn’t be guaranteed to give you a decent signal, it’s whether you buy one and try it or look at something like powerline Ethernet to sort the issue with your upstairs out and then if you sort the IP addressing out you won’t need a new router.

Milkie
    Free Member

I think that is the same one we have at home. It doesn’t provide any better coverage than the £20 we also run. You’re probably best off running another WAP on the edge of your WiFi to give you better coverage.

Before you go buying anything, check to see if anyone elses WiFi is interfering with yours (neighbours WiFi running on same channels). If using a laptop download netstumbler to search for WiFi, there are also apps for tabs/phones.

Cougar