Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Which multi-tool?
  • woodster

My beloved Topeak Alien has broken (tyre lever fatigued) after what must be ten years of hard service, so I reckon it’s about time for a new one.

The Alien 3 seems to get mixed reviews although it can be found cheap, but what else is out there. I don’t like separate bits that get lost and it’d be nice to lose some weight/chunkiness for pocketability, but functionality is obviously number one priority.

What’s everyone using?

jam-bo

Ratchet rocket.

iainc

Hexus

bigblackshed

Either of the above.

kcal

new set of tyres levers? winner!

[edit – never use the levers on my Alien – and it’s the tool I take when I need a decent multi tool ]

butcher

I’ve been using a Topeak one like this for about 10 years. Can’t fault it on quality, especially for the price. It’s been sat in soaking saddle bags for weeks, rusting away, oiled up again….it just keeps soldiering on. It’s been used a lot as well. Used to use it as my main bike tool before I had a toolkit!

woodster

So buy a Topeak with the tools I want? Sounds good to me.

I think the Hexus sounds like what I’m after, surprised by reports of rust on some tools, since my Alien has none and it’s not been cared for in any way whatsoever.

Extra tyre levers is an option, but it’s even more bulk and as uncomfortable as they are, the Alien ones are excellent at levering a tyre.

Thanks all.

antigee

i was given a lezyne stainless steel one as a present and have bought a couple of others since – well made and a good shape

various models and other retailers are available

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/lezyne-sv-10-multi-tool/?curr=GBP&dest=1

edit no tyre levers though? i just carry a couple of plastic ones never thought about having as part of a multitool

takisawa2

Hexus.
    It’s the AA van of multi-tools.

Even the tyre levers are ok, but I always chuck a couple of the plastic ones in.

mattbee