Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Which exhaust repair product for temporary fix?
  • jamiesilo
    Free Member

got a new silencer coming in next few weeks but a couple of holes that could use coveringin the mean time. one is an inch dia
    saw some exhaust ‘bandage’ the other day. paste as well but don’t think it’ll do here.
    what have you used? any good?

ads678

Baked bean tin and a couple of jubilee clips!!

wombat

I’ve had success pop riveting a section of metal oil can or food tin over a hole in a silencer on a mates Land Rover.
    Put a small bead of exhaust mastic round the hole, rivet metal patch over it, job jobbed.
    It lasted around 8 months until it failed, got through an MOT though

jamiesilo
    Free Member

aye : ) right

chestercopperpot
    Free Member

Chicken wire pushed into hole then use the paste and bandage.

Cougar

Back when I was a povvy student driving a decade-and-a-half old Fiesta, I tried every exhaust bodge on the planet and they were all universally mince. Times may have changed in the last couple of decades, I don’t know, but I wouldn’t hold out much hope personally.

sv

It’s been a while but remember the bandage and paste became more than a temp repair 🙂

CountZero

Beer can wrapped around the zorst, then use Gun Gum bandage; used to use it on my old Moggy’s exhaust, worked a treat.
    http://www.halfords.com/workshop-tools/garage-equipment/head-gasket-exhaust-repairs/holts-gun-gum-exhaust-repair-bandage

molgrips
    Free Member

Got the bandage and gun gum on the Prius, been there for a year or so fixing a big hole on a bend. Seems to be holding up well. Needed most of a tube and the bandage though, didn’t hold otherwise.

Wet the pipe, then smeared a thin layer of gum on, then bandage then alternating layers so it all bound together like carbon fibre. Finished with a smoothed off layer of gum.

ulysse
    Free Member

Cougars right, I’d rather fix it right the first time and fix it once

molgrips