Viewing 38 posts - 1 through 38 (of 38 total)
  • Where to take the girlfriend to mtb in Wales
  • stevebo
    Free Member

Alright guys,

The girlfriend and her sister seem up for trying out some proper trails on the Bank Holiday weekend. Both are total novices when it comes to mountain biking. After showing them the video of Antur Stiniog they seemed keen, but not so sure they know what they’re getting themselves into! Would it be suitable for them?

Any other possible recommendations of where to go?

GolfChick
    Free Member

why not one of the easier routes at Llandegla? maybe the blue?

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

Brechfa is lovely. Glorious countryside around, and some nice cruisy trails.

Do not take noobz to Antur! Last time I was there, saw a group of total beginners. All on rental bikes. All in their Altura commuting gear. There was blood. There were bandages.

5thElefant
    Free Member

Another vote for Brechfa.

poey50
    Free Member

Antur Stiniog is not suitable for novices. Brechfa green trail is about the best novice trail imaginable.

stevebo
    Free Member

Ha I thought as much CaptainF! Its hard because for the Brother in Law and myself we want to go somewhere like Antur or BPW but think the best course of action will be to compromise else they might not want to give it another go.

Just checked out Brechfa, looks perfect for what we need, thanks for all the reccomendations. Will have to save Antur/BPW for when we can ditch the girls!

kayak23

Coed y brenin. Loads of good stuff for all levels.

Lawmanmx
    Free Member

Llandegla, its prolly the best bang for buck experience, all things considered … IMO again, Lol

ThePinkster

Will have to save Antur/BPW for when we can ditch the girls!

How about saving it for when they realise how much fun it is?

#casualsexism 😉

timber

If they find Brechfa too tame, the red at Cwm Rhaeder near Llandovery is pretty smooth running, rollable and not intimidatingly narrow.