Viewing 37 posts - 1 through 37 (of 37 total)
  • Where can I buy a cheap, decent acoustic guitar?
  • jhw
    Free Member

Any ideas? (beginner here…)

Thanks

snowslave

It’s the same as buying a bike. Go to a local shop that knows their stuff, talk it through with them. Where do you live?

molgrips
    Free Member

Yamaha. Widely available. Cranes in Cardiff is good 🙂

jimbobrighton
    Free Member

yamaha seconded – had mine 14 years now and still going strong. cost me 90 quid back then.

toab
    Free Member

Freshman are another good brand for cheap beginners guitar

nickc

Another vote for Yamaha, can’t go wrong really. My F310 was £130, bargain-tastic

hitman
    Free Member

jhw
    make sure you try before you buy – if you can’t play that well, get someone who can to go with you and try out the various guitars. Probably as important as sound is playability – if the shop will throw in a free set-up its woth a lot as most guitars are not set up correctly and that even goes for £1k+ guitars. If you can, go for solid wood including back and sides. Best value guitars IMHO are the Johnson/Recording King copies of US guitars (made in China), although I did have an issue with mine and had to eventually send it back. Otherwise try to stretch to the bottom of the range Taylor or Martin guitars – you’ll pay £400-£500 second hand but will not lose any money on these when you sell. Personally I’ve tried the Freshman guitars and didn’t really rate them. If I can help any further email me,
    cheers
    Here’s some examples on ebay at the moment. I know people will say that these are too expensive for a beginner but if you buy a cheap guitar it will simply put most people off playing:
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Martin-00-15-Acoustic-Guitar-Original-Hard-Case-/280580154626?pt=UK_Musical_Instruments_Guitars_CV&hash=item4153e16502
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/MARTIN-D-15-ACOUSTIC-GUITAR-ORIGINAL-CASE-/280579140760?pt=UK_Musical_Instruments_Guitars_CV&hash=item4153d1ec98