Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • What's involved in buying a flat, in a big old building, not using a solicitor?
  • esselgruntfuttock
    Free Member

Stepson is looking at a flat in a Victorian building, ex hotel which was converted in 2012, what specifically do legal fees cover and would a buildings survey be necessary as we can probably assume the developers carried out a survey before converting the building.
    Any ideas?

andyl
    Free Member

Conveyancing involves doing searches to check for potential problems – everything from mining history to checking every thing has planning and there have been no neighbour disputes etc etc things that could give you potential troubles. I am guessing it is leasehold so it will also go into details of that.

I think you can get diy packs to guide you through doing it yourself.

Nipper99
    Free Member

I’m a conveyancing solicitor and I wouldn’t deal with an unrepresented buyer so you may have that to contend with – too much hassle with money laundering requirements etc etc.

spooky_b329

Make sure he’s not going to end up liable for his share of a £500k scheme to replace all the windows/install a new lift etc!

pedropete

A solicitor would translate the lease & hopefully spot any nasties lurking

esselgruntfuttock
    Free Member

Make sure he’s not going to end up liable for his share of a £500k scheme to replace all the windows/install a new lift etc!

Hmm.. that’s worth thinking about!

bonchance
    Free Member

many pitfalls sadly.. Any lease needs professional (or indemnified) representation -in my opinion.

Or to put it another way: trust no developer -and for a new scheme consider what happens to headleases/freeholds and lessors obligations (the lift, the roof, the pool?) – especially if things don’t go to the developers business plans. If your an early buyer and/or the deal covers these risks it could still be worth doing though.