Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • whats a realistic time frame to become race fit or close to it…?
  • odannyboy
    Free Member

firstly i do not want to race.
    the reason i ask is im curious as to how long it would take an average person with reasonable fitness, diet etc to get really good power, stamina etc to be able to compete at a "just for fun level" in moutain mayhem or simular.or just ride to a high endurance standard,etc.
    Basically is it something that develops over years or a shorter time frame? im not impatient but have heard about muscle fibre changes etc and also some of the people ive ridden with before (offroad)are just such powerhouses and thats when they arnt even trying!

odannyboy
    Free Member

think my thread title may have placed to much influence on racing compared to my question…. 🙄

RealMan
    Free Member

I think its different for everyone. I've been riding lots for about 2 years now, and I still die after about 65 miles (most of the time), no matter how much training I do. But then, I'm only 17.

It really does depend on how much training you do, how seriously you take it, how hard you push yourself, etc. etc.

clubber
    Free Member

"just for fun"

Well for me, I hated riding at times when I was really unfit due to the arrival of my son and consequent near complete lack of training for about a year and I guess that it took about three months of training three times a week (but fairly hard training when I did it) to get to a level where I was enjoying rides more because I wasn't struggling.

It's hard to say absolutely though – for me, I've been pretty fit for a long time so I reckon I got it back fairly quickly. For people who've never been fit, it'd probably take longer.

Bream
    Free Member