Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 53 total)
  • What would you have done? (Pub food content)
  • PeterPoddy
    Free Member

I’ve been working away from home 3-4 nights a week for that last 15 months or so.
    I’ve eaten in every chain pub and eatery going, and just as many independent places. I prefer ‘normal’ food when I can get it, meat, veg etc but sometimes I change.
    I’m working in a rather dire area of the west Midlands this week and I went for a drive last night to get out of the sprawl of industry and on my way back I spot a nice pub and decide to return tonight.
    On entering its obviously another chain pub. No matter. The menu looks good if a little pricy by chain pub standards, so I decide to treat myself to something different – Aztec Pie, £10.50, layers (plural, take note…) of tortillas with spicy chicken, wedges, and corn on the cob.
    Food arrives rather quickly and I’m initially disappointed at the ‘Pie’ which as far as I can see is a tortilla with a big spoonful of stuff on it. (layers? Plural?) then I see 4 medium sized potato wedges. 4. Then I see the corn looks over cooked and generally shrivelled.

I’m hungry
    I’ve been at work since 7am
    It’s now 6.15
    I’m British. We don’t like complaining.
    In all the places I’ve been in the last months I’ve never had cause to complain over food (flat coke was the worst thing, swiftly replaced)

But I glance up and attract the attention of a waitress and almost applogetically I complain that my corn is ‘manky’ and that 4 wedges is poor. I don’t mention the ‘pie’
    She says she’ll talk to the manager, who, it transpires, is about 8ft away from me.
    There’s a minutes murmoring and she returns and explains that this is the set portion. No apology. No offer of some non manky corn, nothing. The manager can’t be bothered to walk 8ft and talk to me

By this time a few other diners are watching in interest

What would you do?

Drac