Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • What 29er tyres for Mayhem this year
  • bigsi
    Free Member

Ok so who’s going to stick their neck out and predict what tyres i should be getting ready for this. 😕

Its my first year doing Mayhem and i have heard tell that the conditions can go from Califonian Hardpack to Somme Mud and back again, all within the space of 24 hours. 😯

So what ones do i need to buy as I’m sure that my Spesh The Captains won’t cover all those conditions 🙁

jfeb
    Free Member

Racing Ralphs are brilliant all-rounders. Although not a mud tyre, my 2.4″s performed well enough through the winter that I didn’t bother taking them off.

I did replace the rear with a Maxxis Ardent because the 2.4 RR was a bit wide for my frame and it seems to be similar in terms of grip and drag (lack of).

trail_rat
    Free Member

have you ridden mayhem …2.4 are you mad … you must have like 5 inches of mud clearance !

if i had 29ers on my race bike id be running some CX tires as some of the top solo guys did last year…..

i ran 1.8s on my 26inch wheels and they coped well with the mud !

brakeswithface

As above – 2.4 inch tyres = carrying bike! 1.8s on 26 incher here too.

terrahawk
    Free Member

My Bonty Mud X’s were great at CLIC, from experience though I’ll be taking a pair of Conti Twister CX tyres just in case.

jfeb
    Free Member

LOL. No, not ridden MM (my recommendation was based on “normal” mixed dry/mud conditions, which appears to be irrelevant for this discussion).

Sounds like a bike might be the wrong form of transport 😉

mrsflash
    Free Member

It’s going to be dry this year! Honest!

bigsi
    Free Member

mrsflash – see now is guranteed to rain 🙄

For the record i have gone for a set of these which are a bargain.

http://www.chevincycles.com/products.php?plid=m29b49s380p5730 The frame has reasonable clearance so hopefully they will do the job, if not I’ll be doing alot of walking 🙁

mrsflash
    Free Member