• This topic has 10 replies, 7 voices, and was last updated 13 years ago by P20.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • UST rims & Bonty TLR tyres + Normal tyres
  • P20

Just bought some 2nd hand crossmax. Can you use the bonty tlr series tyres? Presumably normal non tubeless won’t seal. I’ve never had ust rims, but i’ve been using stans for a few years now. Cheers.

stooo
    Free Member

Bonty TLR Tyres have a UST compatible bead, but thinner sidewalls so need some goo/tyre-milk/sealant (whatever you want to call it) in them… but they’ll work fine on your UST Wheels, should work great in fact.

I believe it’s possible to use normal (none tubeless tyres) with UST wheels/rims with goo… but it can be hard to inflate them as they sit a little loose in the ‘well’ in the centre of the rim.

I know Stans NoTubes do a rimstrip that’s for UST rims with normal tyres, but that kinda defeats the point of UST rims.. I’m running Bonty UST Tyres on 819 UST rims…. or at least I will be next week.

P20

Cheers stooo. I’ve just realised that the wheels didn’t come with the mavic valves, but i’ll try with some spare bonty valves that are kicking about.
    I did wonder if the stans yellow strip would allow normal tyres.
    Failing this, i’ll look at proper ust tyres

snakebite
    Free Member

I have Bonty tyres on bonty rims and 819’S, BIG SQUIRT OF STANS AND THEY ARE FINE.

mashiehood
    Free Member

I have standard tyres (nobby nic) on Crossmax SLR’s – inflated using Co2 and survived some hardcore riding in the Tuscan hills. Will never go back to UST tyres.

scruff
    Free Member

Generally, tyres which work with Stans poverty set ups will work well with UST rimss. I have run TLR, standard & UST tyres on 819s. Prefer TLRs.

stooo
    Free Member

Don’t think your bonty valves will fit in the UST rim well.