Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Using all the travel
  • andyjh

I’m fairly new to long travel full sus bikes having just bought myself a s/h Orange Five 29’er. It’s fitted with Fox front and rear which I have setup with 30% sag at both ends. Riding around my local trails I’ve noticed the rear shock uses a lot of its travel in general riding but yesterday I spent the day over at Surrey Hills and had a blast around and I was using all the travel front and rear. Most of the time I had the suspension in Descend mode and the O rings were pretty much at the end of the travel on both the fork and shock. I didn’t feel either end bottom out though so I this actually a good thing that I’m using all the travel?

With the shock using 2/3’rds travel on general riding, is this a soft mid stroke tune? Is this typical of the single pivot design on Orange bikes? Should I get a firmer mid stroke tune? The shock has the following tune;
    Velocity Tune: M
    Boast Valve Tune: 225
    Rebound Tune: M
    Which I assume is specific to Orange?

Cheers

beermonst3r44
    Free Member

From what I gather if your using all your travel and not bottoming out then it’s all good in da hood homey .

ahwiles
    Free Member

that all sounds more or less normal.

by all means, have a tinker if you want to. Try more or less pressure, see what it feels like, if you like it, or not.

but it doesn’t sound like you’re doing anything ‘wrong’. It sounds like you enjoyed yourself, so, er… crack on!

(30% sag sounds a bit more than i like, but that’s me, i’m a mincer)

chrishc777
    Free Member

To quote Brian Lopes, you’re hauling all that suspension up the hill, so you should be using it all at some point in a ride.

If you’re using it all and getting no harsh bottom out happy days.

Or you could move to a ccdb and get that bottomless feel. I did

Goldigger
    Free Member