Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Unemployed; job search, what should I be doing..?
  • loddrik
    Free Member

I am guilty of not doing too much in terms of a job search, just looking in local paper and on the Planning Resource website (Planning Officer by trade). If I am honest town planning looks to be dead in the water with no signs of a recovery any time in the next couple of years so I am kind of open to ideas really. What sort of places should I be looking? The likes of jobcentre plus ain’t too good for professionalish jobs. What else should I be doing?

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Emigrate? that should sort out Unemployment!

chvck
    Free Member

I’ve whacked my CV up on a few job websites such as monster, jobswales and planet recruit. I did that Monday and I’ve had 1 phone call a day from agents saying they have possible jobs if I’m willing to relocate.

Also, been trawling those sorts of websites and just googling in the form of ‘job location’ i.e. ‘computer job ceredigion’ which returns a few hits that I haven’t found elsewhere. I’ve also been on the websites of local businesses checking for vacancies.

AlasdairMc

Register with several agencies, meet them in person, and dust off your CV and get it up to date and targeted towards your job of choice.

j_me
    Free Member

Kick back and take it easy for a while, if Osbourne’s benefit reforms start to bite then try http://www.webuyanykidney.com . Could keep you going for a few months at least.

tron
    Free Member

Write a good CV, get it everywhere you can. Signal to noise ratio is poor for employers advertising jobs at the moment – get your CV in early and make sure it’s decent.

I heartily recommend “Perfect CV” by Max Eggert. Quick to read and works well.

chvck
    Free Member
    Hohum
    Free Member

I have been using agencies.

Sending in my CV, phoning them up and going to see them in person.

muppetWrangler
    Free Member