Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Underfloor heating- off boiler or electric?
  • TomB

Looking for people’s experiences of installing and living with underfloor heating. We intend to remove a wall to make a big new kitchen diner, and would ideally like to install UFH during the process. The overall area is likely to be 30 (ish) square metres. Each room (current kitchen and dining room) has an existing wall mounted radiator. The new kitchen/diner design will be a lot more flexible if we can get rid of these, plus I really like UFH under hard floors when I’ve tried them at mate’s houses.

It seems you can pipe warm water under, or lay electric matting-type stuff. I expect the electric to be easier (cheaper?) to install but I’m concerned about running costs.

I’m a complete novice to this, so any info gratefully received. I’ll be along for more advice on the other 101 aspects of this project that I don’t understand later!

Cheers all

Tom

EDIT FLIP-WRONG FORUM! If someone could shift it I’d be much obliged

wrightyson
    Free Member

A wet underfloor system is generally a better bet all round but without ripping your floor up it’s not really an option. Electric matting has moved on a bit in the last few years but to heat a room of that size is going to be expensive. In my opinion retro fit mats are more suited to taking the chill off a tiled floor etc rather than actually heating such a large area. Hth

Bear
    Free Member

Concur with Wrighty – electric easier therefore cheaper to install, but very expensive to run if you are using it as your primary heating.

Wet best if you can, but you floor heights often dictate what you can and can’t do. Don’t be put off if not enough height with the existing screed as you could possibly put some under a floating floor.

Can recommend David Robbens if you want a quote and they should be able to tell you if feasible or not.

hora
    Free Member