Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • tubeless help?
  • pip001
    Free Member

Im going to give tubeless ago.i have a set of dt swiss tubeless ready wheels m1900.with it already having the rim tape on.will this be enough or is is wise to put another layer of tape on? Or just stick the valves straight in .

dannyh
    Free Member

If the rims are tubeless ready, I don’t think you need tape at all (I’m willing to be proven wrong as I’m also a relative newbie).

In this scenario tape and the build up thereof is more about getting a tight fit with the tyre (but not too tight).

You also need to consider the tyre when doing this – some tyres seem to be porous from what I hear, so more sealant than initially apparently necessary might be required.

Good luck. I put it off for years until about three months ago as I thought it would be one of those things that just wouldn’t work when I tried it. Turned out to be a piece of piss.

I had a slightly more difficult time with a different wheel (I got a mechanic riding buddy to help me first time), but on a subsequent time I just used neat washing up liquid on the beads and didn’t bottle it when the pressure was creeping up to 80 PSI. The tyre seated in the end.

andy4d

Mine went up with just the valve and a glug of stans, nothing else needed, no bother. Others may say different.

Worst case they don’t go up then you need to add the tape. I say try without first.

dannyh
    Free Member

What he said.

It’s a bit trial and error – just remember Stans is expensive, so maybe try without the sealant, then add?

steve_b77
    Free Member

If it’s DT Swiss tubeless tape you don’t need anymore tape

puffballs
    Free Member

Please don’t pump your tyres up to 80psi, that’s just mental!
    You risk blowing it off the rim, deafening yourself and maybe worse.

dannyh
    Free Member

Please don’t pump your tyres up to 80psi, that’s just mental!
    You risk blowing it off the rim, deafening yourself and maybe worse.