Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Touring, charging devices
  • Dorset_Knob
    Free Member

What’s your preferred method of charging phone, Garmin etc on a 5 days+ tour?

I’m planning on a trip that will be part wild-camping and part Premier Inn/B&B, aiming for 70/80 miles a day so probably enough to drain the Garmin. Obvs on hotel nights I could charge from the mains, but am thinking of an AA battery-powered thing for charging when camping out. I’m thinking it’s probably going to be easier to find a garage that sells Duracells than to find a mains outlet if I need to charge in the middle of nowhere.

But I’m guessing, I have no real experience …

simondbarnes

I used an Anker powerbank thingy when touring Scottish Isles a week or two back. The campsites I stayed at also had electricity.

andyg1966
    oliverracing

I’ve played around with dymano hubs and battery packs with some success in the past but find you need to be doing 14mph for at least 50 miles to really make it worth it, and have enought power to charge a battery pack enough to charge phone and GPS, which when off road (as most of my trips are) is pretty hard to do!

More recently I’ve used a 11000mah battery pack and charged every 3-4 days using a mains supply, which are surprisingly easy to find when in a campsite.

bikebouy
    Free Member

I too use an Anker Powerbank, take USB charge lead and travel charger.

I have a regime when I enter the Hotel or BnB, check phone charge if over 50% charge Powerbank first, then Phone (because I can leave the Phone on overnight without worrying if I’ve enough charge in it for the next day)
    Then I use the Airplane Off thingy on the Phone unless I need the Phone to make calls, very rarely do I leave it on, just don’t want to hear the phone go off when i”m riding, if it’s important I’ll pick it up when I stop.

stevious

As above, I’ve used powerbanks to charge garmin/phone while away from power supply.