Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • torn knee ligament recovery?
  • thomasraelburke
    Free Member

hi, just been to a&e and i have torn the ligament in my left knee, after awkwardly coming off my erm *cough* BMX… just wondering if anyone has done this and how long it takes to heal?, im not at the physio till next friday and meant to be at work on monday, im a builder.

phoenixfromtheflame
    Free Member

What ligament and what grade of tear?

thomasraelburke
    Free Member

oh they didnt tell me,its on the inside of my left knee, and at the minute its more painfull than a break, if that is an indication of grade??

phoenixfromtheflame
    Free Member

Medial Collateral Ligament then. And if it's painful that's a relatively good sign.

http://orthopedics.about.com/cs/kneeinjuries/a/mclinjury.htm fill your boots. Nowt too much to worry about though.

thomasraelburke
    Free Member

thanks phoenix great help. its maybe a 2 or 3 it is swollen and bruised but they didnt give me strapping or anything, just crutches and painkillers. when i asked if id be riding this weekend though he laughed at me and said "oh my dear boy no, no." just worried about going to work really.

phoenixfromtheflame
    Free Member

If it's sore it'll probably be a 2. Complete tears tend not to hurt.

pedalhead
    Free Member

Hurts like hell doesn't it? I tore the ligament on the inside of my left knee & it took quite a few weeks to get to the point where I wasn't feeling pain any more. This was many years ago, and I'm afraid to say I still get the odd twinge from it, though it doesn't affect my cycling. Strangely though, horse riding results in a lot of pain, I think it's the angle at which the knee is turned whilst on a horse.

thomasraelburke
    Free Member