Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • To car or not to car?
  • flyingmonkeycorps

I ceased owning a car about a year and a half ago. Can’t say I’ve found myself missing it a great deal – I’m lucky enough to have friends who drive me most of the places I want to go riding, and I’m a named driver on both my housemate and my better half’s car, so I can get around when I need to. I also get lifts to work pretty much whenever I need, though I really ought to start riding in.

In a few months (February, I think) it’ll have been two years since I had a car, and I essentially lose my no claims bonus. So – should I buy myself a wee motor, making myself superskint but retaining the no claims, or should I just sack off having a car indefinitely since I clearly don’t actually need it and be able to buy nice shiny things that I actually want like a new full sus frame that I can actually pedal up hills?

For reference – I checked on confused.com, and with my current no claims insurance would be just under £500, after the two years is up it’d be £750. That’s on a 205 GTi.

gonefishin
    Free Member

So you want to buy car, tax it, MOT it, and inusure it at a cost of ??? so that you save £250 off a bill that you wouldn’t have if you didn’t buy the car in the first place? Sounds like madness to me.

flyingmonkeycorps

Yeah. That was pretty much what I thought after writing that!

5thElefant
    Free Member

“Buy” your better half car and let them borrow it for a couple of years. Then swap back.

alpin
    Free Member

post of the day!

ransos
    Free Member

“Buy” your better half car and let them borrow it for a couple of years. Then swap back.

A work colleague does that – swaps the main driver between him and his wife every two years, so they both retain their NCD.

sbd16v
    Free Member

A work colleague does that – swaps the main driver between him and his wife every two years, so they both retain their NCD.

same here me and the wife do that

toby1