Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 47 total)
  • To bother with my own car?
  • bwfc4eva868
    Free Member

I have been driving a year after passing my test again last year and since then I’ve been a named driver on my partners car. But due to me getting a SP50 it’s knocked her insurance a lot for renewal as split in half it would be £2500 with me on or £500 just for her. Now the only time I use it is if she can’t be mivered driving or if she is off and the weather’s rubbish I’ll use it instead of the motorbike.

Now I’m thinking of getting my own, tried alsorts of different cars, old farts cars, estates the usual Corsa, group 1 insurance cars and the cheapest I can get is £1900.

Worth it or just try to plod on with motorbikes and hope it comes down when I hit 30 year old.

My sister pays £1500 comp on a Hyundai I10 and step daughter £ 1800 on a 1.2 corsa both are under 20.

andyl
    Free Member

£2000 a year insurance? if you can live and work fine without it then sod it. Make sure you have an alternative method to get to work if the weather goes bad.

bwfc4eva868
    Free Member

After bills etc I’d be left with £857 a month fuel and disposable income after that. Work is doable during winter in a car, motorbike it’s downright scary. If I’m on early shifts 2/3 times a week 0700 – 1445 public transport is not an option, taxi is £30.
    Late shift 1330-2130 public transport is doable in winter.

And with my accident record I’m scared of injuring myself on the motorbike.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Worth it or just try to plod on with motorbikes and hope it comes down when I hit 30 year old.

that is a myth…

The only way to get it to come down normally is by earning NCB, if you are not getting the bonus on her insurance then you will have to start high. You will get a drop when the points go but not much else. In general experience getting older/wiser just means the premium doesn’t go up as much.

wilburt
    Free Member