Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • those code pushbutton (no key) door locks
  • MadBillMcMad

You know those code push button locks – like these.

Is there any reason why you would not want one as your front or back door lock on your house ?

Just thinking as we need a new door and we have two sons who appear to have a knack for loosing keys.

wwaswas

they’re not actually that secure – most businesses that have them only use them during the day – they have ‘proper’ locks for out of hours access.

jonnyrobertson

They don’t seem THAT sturdy to be honest, I wouldn’t secure my house with them. Got them at work but the main entances are all secured with good old fashioned lock and key. Many domestic doors these days have 3 locking points and you’d have to go some to break in if secured properly. Never seen them on exterior doors either so maybe not fully weatherproof? I’m no expert though but I’d say stick to conventional lock and key and just get more keys cut. 🙂

clubber
    Free Member

Not sure insurance would consider them as an acceptable lock – IME you can lever them off a door quite easily which you can’t do with a normal lock.

MadBillMcMad

thanks guys

King-ocelot
    Free Member

The apartment were I used to live had one on the shared access door, it was broken off by chavs. I wouldn’t consider one. What about a key safe? With a push code entry?

Cougar

The Unican ones are more secure than the codelocks IME (I’ve managed to picked the latter but not the former).

The only reason I can think of not to have one as an external lock is that pretty much every home insurance policy I’ve ever seen specifies a five lever mortice lock to (BS/EU standard), which these obviously aren’t. They also can’t be deadlocked (or at least, I’ve not seen one that can), and there’s always the risk that someone will see you key in your code.

For external use you’d need one that was weatherproofed, too. Might make a great secondary lock for a vestibule door.