Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • The Whole Drop/Jump Thing…
  • 5thumbs
    Free Member

Dropping/ jumping is a topic which seems to come up here on a regular basis and having spent a fair amount of time trying to get to grips with this technique I thought I'd share my experience.

Firstly, I'm relatively new to MTB (18 months) and in my 40s so realistically my aspirations in this area are tempered by a late start, very average ability and the fact that I can't afford to be off work injured! Having learned the basics of general trail riding my objectives around jumps/drops were therefore fairly modest;

1. to be able to join in with my riding buddies as they got a bit of grin-inducing air over the odd bump in the trail, and
    2. to stop being the guy who rode up to the drop, hit the brakes, rolled over then pedaled like hell to catch up.

As I started trying to work out how to fix my lack of skills I soon came across lots of conflicting advice in the various mags and even on this very forum – pull the bars up/push the bars away, get your weight back/keep your weight central, move the bars down to land/let it land itself…..etc The worst advice I had was 'just go for it'. I tried that one and it hurt.

In the end I bit the bullet and signed up for a course with one of the guys who gets a lot of good feedback on here from other forum members. This took me through structured approach to drops/jumps which made sense and moved me from small bumps to bigger ones slowly building my confidence. Eventually I was going over drops that I would simply never have attempted previously.

The net of it is that I've now got a technique that works for me : cranks level, weight central, pump into the drop/jump (unweight bars) , head up, let the bike land. More importantly I've now got faith in this approach which helps me to overcome those 'oh sh1t' moments of doubt just before I take off. Bingo and b*gger me it seems to work even weeks after the course finished.