Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Tell me about mountaineering clothing/boots please
  • jhw
    Free Member

I’ve signed up to a course with ISM in Leysin from 10-24 September, with an introductory week and then a week’s climbing up to (I think) about 4000-4500m. I’m completely new to climbing, in an outdoor environment at least. ISM provide me with technical gear (ice axes, crampons, belay device etc.) but I need to sort out my own clothing. They provide a rucksack too, apparently.

I understand this means I have to procure appropriate trousers, a base layer, a mid-layer, a jacket, boots, socks (are special socks necessary?), a hat (is a special hat necessary – will an Alpaca beanie do?), and gloves.

Can anyone tell me about procuring these and recommend anything specific in particular? I’m not going to be climbing on a regular basis – just for a few weeks every summer. I don’t want to spend thousands, but I want reasonably good stuff. I already have a Goretex ultralight jacket from Evans very good for cycling but suspect I’ll need something thicker – a proper jacket? I also already have a synthetic Helly Hansen base layer – will this do?

Thanks

Clueless

TandemJeremy
    Free Member

Check what sort of crampons they will be providing and if they provide the right boots. Some types of crampons require specific boots. even with old skool strap on crampons the boot needs to be stiff / rigid for ice climbing.

Clothing I would also ask them for advice

Trousers – you need something that does not restrict movement and is not baggy. Some folk will tell you technical clothing is essentail but personally I don’t. If you want wicking layers and stuff just use your cycling tops.

socks _ i use conventional ones. hat – I have a variety of its not critical what type. waterproofs – make sure they are quality and waterproof. Why not use your cycling ones if they fit the bill? thin waterproof – take an extra layer.