Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Teach me about 18560 batteries please
  • carbon337
    Free Member

Ok I bought a Cree XML-T6 torch (Ultrafire c8) from ebay with some 18560 batteries.

BRC 18560 3000mAh 3.7V li-ion

To be used as a head torch for MTB and a bar torch on the road bike.

Went on a road ride last thursday after charging till there was a green light on the charger on a mix of low and medium I only got about 1h 20mins. I did have it on high for about 10 mins.

How long should i be charging these for? How long should they last?

Sorry im new to all this stuff and some basic advice would be great thanks.

aidso
    Free Member

I have a P7 torch for my helmet with the same battery and I would only get 1 hour from a cell – I carry a spare for the remainder of the journey.

In saying that, I only turn the helmet torch on when the tree-cover gets thick so sometimes the battery does me longer.

RustyMac

Stoner provides some good info on the 18650 batteries here 1/3 of the way down the page is a tabel of how the cells stack up against one another.

http://singletrackworld.com/forum/topic/ebay-cree-xml-20-torch-out-of-the-box-pics-review/page/2

At the end of the day that may be all you can expect from a single cell powering an XML led, they are pretty high drain led’s especially concidering the currents they can be run at to produce such a bright light.

Your best bet is to probably pick up a couple more cells and stick them in your pack or pocket when you go out so you can swap a fresh one in when they run out.

carbon337
    Free Member

How long do people normally charge these for?

kevj
    Free Member

How long do people normally charge these for?

Until the LED on the charger changes from red to green?

carbon337
    Free Member

Ok wasnt sure whether to believe that on this cheap charger.

Think ill buy some better batteries after looking at the Torchythebatteryboys page.

Stoner
    Free Member