Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Tax In Norway
  • turin
    Free Member

I am applying for a PhD position in Norway and for some obscure reason they look to be offering to pay around 400,000NoK it is around £40k. Which seem far too good to be true so it probalbly has some catch.

Im sure I have read that there were a couple of the STW in Norway who may be able to give me some idea of how that relates to real world living over there and how much of that I would be likely to loose in Tax. Pretty sure the tax is higher there than here but the standard of living looks better. Since I graduated in 2005 and still on the great job hunt it would also be a good time to make a move like this and I have always had a desire to live in Scandinavia.

cheers

ourmaninthenorth

You need to find out what taxation requirements there are in Norway for docotral students (esp overseas ones). In the UK, you wouldn't pay tax on your grant, hence the fact they're so low (and that UK universities are about to get stiffed on the funding front by Peter "Prince of Darkness" Mandelson).

Pigface
    Free Member

As Norway is one of the most expensive countries on the planet it seems about average. Dont forget not an EU member so health care etc will need to be paid for.

It is also an amazing country so good luck.

DrJ

+1 for finding out about the tax. It will make a huge difference, how you are treated, and it is not obvious which way they will go.

As OMITN said, in UK you don't pay tax, but in (eg) France you do, even if the grant is (eg) an EC grant for the same gross amount in both countries (so EC postdocs live like lords in UK, and UK postdocs live like paupers in France).

turin
    Free Member

Thanks for the info, I dont suppose that you would know where the bast place to find that info out would be or would the easiest way be to contact the Unversity.