• This topic has 16 replies, 11 voices, and was last updated 10 years ago by br.
Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Tax dilemma
  • verses

For a while my, erm, friend’s wife has been doing ironing and cleaning for a few different friends. It’s just a few hours and isn’t regular work so she’s massively below the minimum threshold for paying tax. As such nothing’s been declared to the tax man.

She still has student loans that she defers each year and the student loans co want to see bank statements to see her child benefit payments, these statements also show ironing and cleaning income.

As such she now needs to tell the student loans co about the income and is worried that they might inform the tax office too…

Does she really need to be registered for such minimal income? Are there likely to be penalties for not registering sooner? What’s the best way forward?

nickjb
    Free Member

Firstly I’m not an expert, just a tax paying freelancer so take all this with s pinch. You should fill out a said assessment even if you earn below the threshold. The hmrc website says You must register for Self Assessment with HMRC as soon as you can after starting your business which is pretty vague but sooner would be better than later. You’ve got until the end of this year to fill out last year’s. If you have very little income it will only take 10 mins so not really worth avoiding.

v8ninety

Why on earth is your wife your friend’s wife putting the cash in the bank? surely just keep it in the hand and use it instead of going to the cashpoint? A technique beloved of builders, plumbers and chinese takeaways the world over…

verses

Thanks for the comments.

She’s been getting paid by bank transfer, I, erm, my friend was unaware of this so believe me that question has been asked………….

andyl
    Free Member

maybe you, sorry your mate, has been putting money in her account to spend on household stuff?