Viewing 38 posts - 1 through 38 (of 38 total)
  • 'talk-talk' ISP is crap!
  • mendip
    Free Member

Is there anyone having problems with 'talk-talk' ISP? I have been using it for about 6 months since the change over from Tiscali, not happy with the permformance of it as it's very slow and sometimes it wont contect on the internet, I am now looking to change to a new ISP, and wondered which one I should aim for.

Thanks

Cougar

Frying pan, fire.

Here's what you do. Go to http://www.samknows.com. Plumb in your phone number and postcode and it'll tell you what LLU providers are in your area. Pick one (or list here and I'll tell you which is best).

LLU gets you away from BT Wholesale. This is a) cheaper and b) usually better.

-Liam-
    Free Member

What have you done to improve it?

neilsonwheels
    Free Member

Cable is the way forward.

convert

I had exactly this problem (a search will find my thread) – dropping connection all the time, very slow service at peak times (around 100kb at times, barely better than old dial up) which had been going on for ages. I rang up and complained, was passed on to someone else to complained to who sucked his teeth and told me I was probably riddled with malware. He recommended I ran malwarebytes & spotbot S&D and see if that helped. I do this regularly anyway so did not follow his advice then and there however within 24hrs I had 4mb service 24hrs a day and have not dropped connection once since (2 months ago). I can only conclude that they have the ability to upgrade the service at my local exchange relatively easily or some other IT jiggery pokery as the difference is night and day.

coffeeking
    Free Member