Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • SurferTrackWorld – which board?
  • PimpmasterJazz
    Free Member

Contemplating a new board. Been riding longboards for nigh on 15 years and still (very) occasionally sponge. Fancy something that I can duck dive in bigger surf, handle steeper take-offs but will still catch smaller waves and is easier to carry around.

I’ve been surfing for over 20 years but am basically a beginner/intermediate. I can catch a wave and progress down the line, but will only get a couple of decent waves per session. Prefer surf in the 2-4ft range and have been out in head-high after a summer of decent surf, but that is very much my limit.

Waves tend to be south coast and north Devon coast.

Weigh 170lbs, stand at 6′.

Current thinking is something like a Maluku Flying Frog: http://malukusurf.com/index.php/portfolio-item/flying-frog-eco/

Anyone else got any further thoughts or recommendations?

big_n_daft
    Free Member

Northern Dawn

jam-bo

I’ve just picked up a 6′ pukas 69er with much the same criteria.

deft
    Free Member

Fourth Chilli Bean

Catches everything a longboard could, but saves me needing a second board for bigger days – rare on Anglesey

richiethesilverfish
    Free Member

I ride a longboard 90% of the time but have a Nine Plus Marmadillo for those odd days.
    Looking at your link it’s very similar.
    It’s got heaps of volume so paddles amazingly but only 6’4″ so far more nimble than my longboard.

Matt_SS_xc

Mini Simmons?
    If you are used to a longboard then you need volume, but surely you want something that feels different to ride?
    Gf has a watershed Simmons, been used a lot the last 3 years and still looks great. Wave catching machine but she has happily used it on bigger days when she doesn’t want to ride her shortboard

bikebouy
    Free Member

Tomo Evo 5’10 should be perfect.

PimpmasterJazz
    Free Member