Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • superstar tesla with pacenti rims any real experiences ?
  • richen987
    Free Member

Looking at some new cheapish wheels, saw these and thought they look good deal.
    Tesla on tl28 650b rims.
    Rims and hubs get pretty well reviewed in the press and sapim spokes as well .
    Anyone ride them and have any real world experience of them ?
    Read plenty of anecdotal pluses and minuses for superstar.
    But really after real world experiences please.

Cheers

FOG

I have a pair on 26in and they have been fine. Such is the level of comment about SS on here that I have actually checked the spoke tension after every ride , something I have never done before, with no problems discovered.
    The wheels are used on a Soul in the Peaks twice a week and so far (6 months ) are fine.

monkeychild
    Free Member

Be prepared for an octopus attack and you will be reet.

andyrm
    Free Member

Been running Tesla hubs on SS Sentinel rims all seasons. Hubs absolutley bang on, bearings still super smooth, freehub fine. Nice wheels, mine seem all good – rear needed a little tweak after a month or so but for a wheelset that’s seen hard UK & international enduro use, they have done very well.

Maybe look at the SS Tactic rim instead?

jasonm945
    Free Member

I have just had my rear Tesla replaced under warranty (which has taken weeks and been like pulling teeth), but overall I would rate them quite highly. They also currently have the new Tesla Evo’s coming in to stock which sound amazing when spun up.
    I also have superstar road wheels which had a 1cm radial drift when I bought them and had to be retrued and tightened before riding.
    I would recommend going for it but just checking before you ride as things may need a tweak 😉

Jay

big_n_daft
    Free Member

Freehub is not good under big loads

Already warrantied once, failed again

andyrm
    Free Member

Freehub is not good under big loads

Mine’s been fine.