Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Super gentle off-road ride in Yorkshire… ideally with a pub at the end
  • TomHill
    Free Member

Girlfriend is really keen to try mountain biking. She is a complete beginner, and hasn't ridden since she was a child. We've got her up to speed on actually being able to ride again, but now I'd like to take her out on her 1st "proper" ride.

She's not overly keen on anything rough or steep at the moment. Think the best way to describe it would be "going for a walk in the country, but with bikes". Can anyone recommend anywhere that would suit the bill? Maybe up to 10miles tops, relatively flat, probably a fairly good surface… and with a liquid incentive in the middle/at the end?

I was thinking the Dalby green route around Adderstone as a back up. Never ridden it, but assume it'll just be fireroad?

meehaja
    Free Member

Ogden resevoir near halifax?Flat, bit bumpy in places, some cheeky trails in the woods to one side. Not sure about pub, but there was an ice cream van last time I was there?

Teetosugars
    Free Member

Black Hambleton, and drop down into Osmotherly??

Start at The Visitors centre at the top of Sutton Bank??

TomHill
    Free Member

I've not ridden Ogden since about 1996! It was good fun on my Marin Palisades Trail… Will have to go back, either with the other half, or just by myself!

Filthy
    Free Member

There's an old railway line that runs round rosedale… very flat and easy, I'd also reccommend the Lion on Blakey ridge as a starting point.

midlifecrashes

Yorkshire is a big place, I'd be thinking along the lines of a Sustrans route at this stage of her riding. Reservoir routes can be good too, but there's always a headwind for half of it which might be offputting. Where's your start point?

TomHill
    Free Member

Midlifecrashes – we're in Leeds, but happy to drive for a couple of hours and make a daytrip of it. Will check the Sustrans website

jlc
    Free Member