Viewing 39 posts - 1 through 39 (of 39 total)
  • Summer fat bike tyres of choice and tubeless tape
  • fatbikeandcoffee
    Free Member

Hi all,

Wanted to pick the collective brain, first summer on my fat bike #itsmyonlybike and the winter tyres whilst fab (FBF and FBR) are way to treaded for summer, so what’s everyone running or seen recently?

My ride are pretty much SDW and the odd trail centre, Schwalbe Jumbo Jim seem to get a lot of mentioned on a quick web search but what’s the real life experience? Any other suggestions?

Whilst picking the collective STW hive mind, what’s the view on tubeless tape for MuleFut rims?

Thanks in advance.

James

whitestone
    Free Member

I bought my fat bike second hand as a rolling frame, it came with 45nrth Husker Dus. I’ve no experience with anything else so no idea how they compare for summer use. I did fit some Van Helgas for winter use which are completely different.

None of the 45Nrth offerings are particularly cheap! 😯

oink1
    Free Member

currently using a pair of mammoths for better weather duties (£60 per pair from PX) with no issues yet 🙂

flashes
    Free Member

I use a Larry or Mammouth front and Endomorph rear…..

Northwind

4.8 Jumbo Jims for me but I’ve not used the alternative summer tyres

fatbikeandcoffee
    Free Member

Thanks for the ideas all, much appreciated.

I can so relate to you run what you have and hence the collective check before splashing hard to earn cash on new tires.

James

dufusdip
    Free Member

Jumbo jims for me. Great but struggle in mud or slop. Nice rolling and better than floaters but not much edge grip.

Now we’re back in slippiness I’m looking for a more aggressive front.

tillydog
    Free Member

100mm wide Scapa 3122 tape (waterproof duct tape) from ebay worked a treat on my Mulefut rims (applied over the original rim strips after taking them off and de-greasing them and the rims).