Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Stock / share dealiong & Bed + ISA?
  • mactheknife

Ok i am pretty new to the share dealing game, i understand the basic principal that you can bed and isa a set of shares so that they are basically wrapped in the ISA and sheltered from future capital gains tax.

What i’m not too sure about is whether i can then trade these shares as normal ie, sell as they drop and buy back at a lower price etc. That is just an example by the way off the top of my head.

The stocks i have now i will be keeping for the medium to long term so i’m not looking to play with them too much but i am just trying to work out the limitations of Bed and ISA.

Cheers in advance 🙂

poolman
    Free Member

Yes once in the isa you can sell them, sit on the cash within the isa and then hopefully buy them back later at a better price. Sell in May and go away…hopefully.

I have a core holding for income and then spec positions. Tbh for the stress it causes i may just leave them all in the pot and bank the divis.

trail_rat
    Free Member

Just remember that the fees you’ll pay on dealing mean that you need huge swings up and down or be dealing in big sums before it makes sense to sell off and rebuy

mactheknife

Good stuff, cheers all. Making a lot more sense now 🙂

mactheknife

Trail rat, yea i’m not doing a lot of dealing due to fees and the stocks spread taking a good chunk. Im in for the medium to long term 🙂

poolman
    Free Member

Yes stamp duty, buy and sell fee are c 1% transaction value for me. Yesterday i banked some profits, today i could buy them back and make some profit after fees. Its pretty rare though, normally i have to wait a few weeks. Dont forget the default position of doing nothing costs nothing and incurs no stress.

mactheknife