Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Stiffee all rounder – how much should it travel?
  • kizzly
    Free Member

I have decided to try again at the ultimate all round bike.

Most my riding is a mix of freeride and downhill singletrack. I have been riding my dream custom Orange Patriot since 2001 but have dearly missed the option for tricky hoppy trials type riding and the ability to tackle long winding uphills.

My Stiffee frame arrived today and I have parts on order to begin phase 2. I have 100mm RS Reba Dual air forks ready to go, but question: is this too little travel? Does anyone have feedback after trying this combo?

scud
    Free Member

I think that if you are a freeride/ DH guy as you say then they are really. The Stifee was designed as a longer travel frame. I loved mine and ran it around 140-150mm and it was great. The only bike I ever regretted selling

I have seen pics where people have run them with full on DH triple
    Crown forks as the frame is so strong.

I think to run them with 100mm forks will mean that you’ll have a steep head angle and won’t be using the frame to it’s potential

Sodajim

I think the Stiffee FR was originally designed around 100 mm fork which was longish travel back then. I don’t know if they changed the angles around 2009 but it used to be 100 mm to 120/130ish travel for the sweetest all round handling.

Although strong the standard Stiffee wasn’t warranted for a triple crown, that was the Stiffee MX (I think) which was more jump/ freeride focused and became the Foreplay.

to go back to your question if you all ready have Reba 100’s why not take the internal spacer out, run them a 120 mm and see how you get on.

AndyRT
    Free Member

Think latest ones are 140mm as a base. Seen them with 160’s on, but imagine they’d be a little too much like a chopper

Sodajim

Just a though, why not ask richiethesilverfish.

He’s been selling them long enough now to hopefully know whats what

kizzly
    Free Member