Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Steak – bloody lovely steak…
  • I’m not a huge eater of meat – mostly chicken and bacon, but like the odd steak occasionally.

I’m far from an expert on cooking steak, but generally go for a medium – this is usually nice and pink, but no blood, which is what I want.

I had an 8oz fillet on Friday night and all started well, but by the time I got to the end, it was oozing the red stuff and my plate was a shade of crimson. Some mates said it seemed normal, others reckoned it was a bit more than you’d expect for a medium.

It was very nice – the best steak I’ve had by the way. I just get put off by blood and had to leave the last bit, as nice as it tasted.

What would you expect from a nice fillet, cooked medium?

grum
    Free Member

Shouldn’t be any blood leaking out of a medium steak, just a touch of pink in the middle.

Drac

Medium should be red with only the slightest amount of a blood a simple trace as you look into the cut. Medium rare is my choice where it should trickles a little bit of blood out. Lovely.

chambord
    Free Member

It might not have been rested properly after cooking.

manmurray

^^^^ this, but probably a bit under medium too

FunkyDunc
    Free Member

Prob bit under medium, but I would cook medium like that and leave it to rest properly.

As to steak, IMO you cant beat M&S for quality flavour full steak, much better than local butchers where I live.

Drac

M&S use Scotchbeef which is the same as who Costco use too, very good beef.

Stoner
    Free Member

Its not blood, its Myoglobin. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Myoglobin

The Red Juice in Raw Red Meat is Not Blood

Fillet shouldnt even be cooked IMO, I love fillet raw, carpaccio.
    If it must be cooked, then put the pan on a high eat and eat the steak in another room 🙂

Tom_W1987
    Free Member

Fillet shouldnt even be cooked IMO, I love fillet raw, carpaccio.