Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Sponsored charity events in other countries- disgruntled
  • unfitgeezer
    Free Member

What’s the point?
    Some of the mums from school are taking part in a sponsored walk in a far flung country.
    Flights and accommodation etc must add up to a substantial amount which are paid for by being sponsored, seems like a complete waste of money.
    In my old days I used to be a mechanic on triathlons(abroad) there was always a lot of groups from Blighty- flights must have cost a fortune all paid by sponsorship.

Thoughts ????

mikewsmith
    Free Member

If you raise the funds to go yourself (from your pocket) and all donations go to the charity no problem. If your using donations for a holiday then no.

poly
    Free Member

I’d question the point of sponsorship as a fundraising approach in general. Why not just say “I feel strongly about this cause, I wonder if you would mind donating?”

Now “high profile” sponsored events may have a purpose beyond the financial. In which case if you think of it as “crowd funding to raise awareness of XXX whilst doing YYY” you might view it differently?

Nobeerinthefridge
    Free Member

I’m with Mike.

Unfortunately, charities are so desperate, and there’s so much competition, that they pretty much go along with all this stuff to get any kinds of funds in.

wwaswas

I feel uncomfortable with the

“Here’s something I’d really like to do, will you pay for my flights and accomodation?”

side of it.

If you want to climb a big hill book a holiday and go and do it, don;t expect 80% of what I give you to go towards paying for the experience.

P-Jay
    Free Member

The point is to get more people to do more sponsored events – some people won’t do the same thing year in, year out – I’ve ridden the Taff Trail from Brecon to Cardiff so many times I’ve lost count.