Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Solar electricity panels
  • nosherduke996
    Free Member

Has anyone gone down the route of solar energy yet. I would like to know if it,s as good as the government are claiming, or is it just total bullshit like endowment mortgages which were supposed to make a fortune and didn’t.

andyl
    Free Member

on my bike? no

ton

roughly 8 yrs before you start making any money off them.

i sell them for a living.

derekrides
    Free Member

Yes, buy haven’t got my feed in tariff working yet, but the panels are working.

And I have this cool idea for a scam with a wind machine driven off the mains working the tariff difference…

donsimon
    Free Member

Have a look at this watchdog report.
    And the free solar power web page.
    It appears that there are people selling when the deal can be done for free. 😉

ton

if you sign for the FREE option, the company who does the install gets all the government kickback, you recieve zilch.

donsimon
    Free Member

That’s what is shown on the Watchdog link ton, IIRC you can buy at something like 10k and make 28k over 25yrs or you can rent the roof and get a reduced cost and a clear profit of 3k or finally deal with the shysters.
    Which one are you ton?

ton

we just sell it to the installers.
    and there are some proper cowboys about.
    roofers, aerial installers and anyone with ladders are jumping on the band wagon.
    if you decide to go with it, get a company that has been going for 5 or more years.

donsimon
    Free Member

Does that mean you’ve jacked in the satelite stuff then, ton?
    You sell direct to the end user or organise the rent a roof grants and then pass details on to the installers?

ton

still selling satellite and aerial stuff.
    and solar to the trade installers.
    no contact with the end users.

cullen-bay
    Free Member

Before you buy solar panels, check this thread out… About a massive volcanoe errupting