Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • So Ubuntu……. a few questions
  • sharkbait
    Free Member

I've recently been having a play with a Linux and am a complete noob. I've installed Puppeee on my daughters Asus Eee which she loves and seems quick and I've [dual boot] installed Ubuntu 9.1 on two old laptops and 10.04 on my newer desktop.
    I'm finding the change from XP very very nice and I'm hoping it's going to be faster as well. Am I right in saying that Linux is generally safer then windows from a virus/malware perspective?

The laptops are mostly used for internet and email – should I use the netbook version on these or is the desktop version just as quick?

On my desktop (which is also for work) I'm getting a few crashes – is this probably because it's still early days for this version or does it need a newish system to run?

andytherocketeer

I guess that's 9.10 rather than 9.1 ?

The netbook version is basically the same as the non-netbook version, but with the addition of a few extra packages (eg for the GUI and maximised windows with no borders etc). Indeed if you install the desktop version, you only need to install 1 meta pakage to turn it into a netbook version.

I prefer the Netbook version on the eeePC just because of the reduced screen area, and the ease of controlling it thru a tiny mouse trackpad. Speed is identical for desktop & netbook version.

tomhughes46

Am I right in saying that Linux is generally safer then windows from a virus/malware perspective?

Yes; partly because you have to 'sudo' stuff, and partly because there are less threats I think.

should I use the netbook version on these or is the desktop version just as quick?

I personally don't like the Netbook remix, and just the the desktop on everything, (laptop, Netbook, Desktops) then I know where stuff is.