Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 179 total)
  • Smoking IS a pretty disgusting habit….
  • bearnecessities

After the recent smokey thread on here predictably brought out some nasty-chops and idiots, and I’ve thought about some things that were said a bit more, I’ve actually realised that I was the biggest idiot of all.

It’s staggering to think what I’ve been doing to myself for the last 20 years, how previous attempts have ‘beaten me’ and I’ve succumbed back to….what exactly? Setting fire to something and breathing it in?

How can I think myself half intelligent, yet have allowed over 20 years to quaff probably 100,000 cigarettes? (that’s just using a figure of 13 average a day)

Yes it’s ‘addictive’ but so what? Nobody’s held a gun to our head, etc etc.

So that’s it. I’m done. Ooot. Thanks for nothing. I’ve tried and failed plenty of times before, but something has finally switched in my brain that actually makes me NOT want one – plus something that another poster helpfully said in response to a fairly stupid comment I made, is still ringing in my head.

..anyhow, this wasn’t meant to be a post about me, it was to maybe encourage others to chip in and pack it in, because let’s face it, smokers generally don’t like being smokers.

It IS a disgusting habit, that’s the truth of it.

Drac

Good for you and best of luck.

Hope to see you in a smoke free beer garden soon.

teasel
    Free Member

Good luck. Here’s a little Allen Carr piece I recalled when quitting some years back now…