• This topic has 34 replies, 19 voices, and was last updated 10 years ago by sbob.
Viewing 35 posts - 1 through 35 (of 35 total)
  • Shipping container in my garden
  • flip
    Free Member

Do i need planning permission?

Only having an 8×10 ft 😕

thegreatape
    Free Member

Forever?

flip
    Free Member

Well yes as a storage facility.

trail_rat
    Free Member

Do you have neighbours. Do you like them?

scuzz
    Free Member

Do it!

flip
    Free Member

Yes i do, they’re, ok.

I have a big garden.

This is a plan instead of renting an industrial unit for my business.

Do i need permission..

cloudnine
    Free Member

Stick some shiplap on it and make it look like a shed

sbob
    Free Member

You’ll need to ask your local authority, some do some don’t.

richmars

You may get caught with change of use, but I’m no expert.

stimpy
    Free Member

No you don’t need planning permission to site a storage container within the curtilage of your dwellinghouse for storage purposes that are ancillary to your occupation of that dwellinghouse.

It does not constitute “development” within the meaning of s55 of the Town and Country Planning Act 1990 (as amended).

It’s not change of use either.

wrightyson
    Free Member

We bung them on sites all the time. In fact left a 20×10 one got about 5 yrs. keep it well painted tho, they look tatty quickly.

hamishthecat
    Free Member

you need to look at the rules in the Town and Country Planning (General Permitted Development) Order. It depends on various factors such as position in relation to the existing house and road, how near to the house, whether in a Conservation Area or AONB etc etc. All local authorities would adhere to the GPDO – although if no one complains about it then they may not do anything.

Is it for business use? As noted, there is some risk of a change of use permission being needed unless the use can be considered ancillary to the use of the dwelling as such.