Viewing 26 posts - 1 through 26 (of 26 total)
  • Shimano PD-M530 platform Spuds – anyone using 'em?
  • binners

I was using Xpedo platform Spd’s but managed to break ’em. So I’m looking for another set of platform SPD’s

I was looking at XT’s, but noticed the PD-M530’s. They’re cheap as chips. Is anyone using them? Just wondering whether to just get a set of these instead of over double the price for the XT’s

doesn’t look much to justify the price difference to me

I’m not arsed about weight. They’re being hung on a set of Holzfeller cranks and a Howitzer bottom bracket, so its a bit late to come over all weight weenie 😀

Your words of wisdom please, oh wise ones

monkeyfiend
    Free Member

Hi, I’ve been using the deore ones for about 4 months now, they get used every day for commuting to work and occasionely I take the bike to the FOD and run the V trail. Its on a rigid ss so it gets some force through them.

I was concerned at first because they are ‘trekking’ pedals? and thought they would break under some proper use, but I’ve been impressed so far.

The main reason I wanted a single sided pedal was for jumping on the bike for a quick local run in trainers and they are comfy for that aswell.

Deffinately going to buy another set if/when these give up (probably in silver next time though as the black rubs off quickly).

I am in 2 minds about getting a set for the full susser, but I don’t know if they’d be up to that level of abuse?

I’ll keep an eye on this thread and see if any one has dared to.

Ps I’m 80kg + kit, and don’t always have both wheels on the ground.

rob-jackson
    Free Member

the pdm530s are double sided, yours are a different pedal

prezet
    Free Member

Not ridden them myself – think I’m going to try some of these next:

nbt

I did uses platform SPDs for a while then thought – why? I only ever ride clipped in. Riding unclipped on SPDs is horrible. Just get some PD520s and be done with

MrTall
    Free Member