Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Shimano Alfine 8sp: broken internals, can anyone help?
  • a11y

I’ve been using an 8-speed Alfine for a couple of years on an MTB but towards the end of last year it wasn’t shifting well at all. I guessed something more than gear setup was at fault, so I acquired the tool to remove the plastic dustcap and remove the internals. Not good 🙁

The plastic ring holding the bearings in place on the non-drive side is completely destroyed: there were remains of it littering the inside of the hub. I’m trying to identify a replacement part but my local bike shop hasn’t had any success so far.

The part I need is circled in green in this picture – it’s only a thin platic ring around the outside of the bearings I need (the bearings are secured into place by it):

20110108.AM.Alfine hub exploded by Ally Mitchell, on Flickr

It doesn’t appear to have a separate part number according the the Shimano techpages: http://techdocs.shimano.com/media/techdocs/content/cycle/EV/bikecomponents/SG/EV-SG-S500-2637C_v1_m56577569830689515.pdf.

Can’t anyone help me locate this part or point me in the right direction? I’m unsure if it’s available separately, but given that it’s a small inexpensive piece of plastic I’d bloody hope it is…

Cheers
    Ally

epicyclo

Can’t help, but I’d like to know more.

Any chance of a photo of the part?

a11y

I’ll try and get photos tomorrow after work – not much left of the plastic bit that broke though.

I’ve posted the same query on the hubstripping website and initial reports don’t make good reading: Shimano may not supply the individual part I need, leaving my only option being to purchase a much larger part which costs near enough the same as the hub, or locate another broken alfine hub and strip the part from it I need. Seems utterly stupid for a part that should cost pennies…