Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Sherwood pines or Cannock chase?
  • runswithscissors

Travelling from the flat lands for a days riding, which of the two would you recommend?

scruff
    Free Member

The one which you can arrrange a local guide for ???

runswithscissors

Happy to find my own way around, just wondering which is best for a days following my nose….hopefully in the sunshine!

Whathaveisaidnow
    Free Member

I’d say the Chase, never been to Sherwood Pines though.

Your likely to end up disappointed without a guide on the chase?

scruff
    Free Member

Proabably about the same without a guide, if your looking for off piste. Both have tame signed routes.
    Chase has DH tracks aswell which as easy to find and good fun.

sootyandjim
    Free Member

I’d say the Chase, never been to Sherwood Pines though.

The quintessential STW post?

“I’d say A although I have no experience of B”.

Lol

Both have their good points.

If you like DHing then Stile Cop at Cannock is fun for a bit and sáns guide Follow The Dog is ok though nothing breathtaking, you need a guide to find the best of the rest.

Sherwood Pines is also fun but once again, without a guide you will miss a hell of a lot of good singletrack.

runswithscissors

lol @ sooty….hmm thanks guys, thought maybe with me and my gps we would be ok at either for cheeky trails…maybe time for a rethink!

sootyandjim
    Free Member

Don’t get me wrong, both Cannock and Sherwood can be fun even without a guide but you’ll barely scratch the surface of the singletrack available and struggle to find a flowing route.

Which flat lands are you coming from BTW, Lincolnshire or Norfolk/Suffolk?

runswithscissors

the imposing hillocks of Cambridgeshire!

puddle-rider
    Free Member