Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Setting up a limited company for contracting. Any risks?
  • brooess
    Free Member

Have taken some advice from an accountant and chatted to a few people who do it already and the main downsides to think about seem to be:

1. Uncertain income – but you should earn more when you are working to cover this.
    2. Keep business and personal expenditure 100% separate so you don’t break the law.
    3. Don’t breach IR35.
    4. Get an accountant to manage your tax affairs so you pay the right amount and don’t accrue an underpaid bill.

I’m assuming the point of a Ltd is any debts from the company will not impact my personal estate ie: I can’t lose my house or end up in bankruptcy.

Being a contractor my costs would be limited so it’s mainly a question of managing my income and paying the right tax…

Anything else?

chakaping
    Free Member

Works well for me as a freelance journalist.

Only real risk is that you end up working all the bloody time.

I have a business partner though, so Ltd Company was the natural choice for us.

craigxxl
    Free Member

You’ve just about covered everything there and as pointed out you can find yourself working all the time but able to take the rewards too.
    Be very careful with the IR35 as the word on the grapevine is that HMRC will be targeting this again. Also the accountants that allow this to happen in attempt to get rid of some the bad practices.
    Good luck to you

br
    Free Member

I’m assuming the point of a Ltd is any debts from the company will not impact my personal estate ie: I can’t lose my house or end up in bankruptcy.

As a sole-contractor the only debts you’ll be able to ‘create’ are not paying your taxes/vat etc – so no real risk in that sense.