• This topic has 17 replies, 14 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by br.
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Self Employed – Cycle to work?
  • benjiclark
    Free Member

Evening all, I’m a sole trader and wanting a new bike!
    I know cycle to work isn’t available but I’ve been told I can buy the bike as a ‘capital allowance’ as I do use it for work
    Then claim 20p per mile for non-normal commutes

But I can’t find anything on the wonderful hmrc website – any pointers anyone? Would be gratefully received

Kind regards
    Ben

julians
    Free Member

Just buy it and claim it as an expense,just like you would any other bit of equipment you might need for your work.

craigxxl
    Free Member

You can buy any asset but it must be “wholly and exclusively” for business purposes for it to qualify for capital allowances. Any portion not used for business i.e.commuting should be disallowed from the tax computation.

Mileage allowances are for private vehicles so you can’t put the bike through the business and claim for the miles too.

julians
    Free Member

You can buy any asset but it must be “wholly and exclusively” for business purposes for it to qualify for capital allowances. Any portion not used for business i.e.commuting should be disallowed from the tax computation.

That’s the case for most equipment,but bikes loaned to employees are exempt under the cycle to work scheme. Have a look here

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/cycle-to-work-scheme-implementation-guidance

So just buy the bike, and claim it as an expense.

Edit: just realised you are a soke trader,not Ltd Co, so not technically an employee,so maybe you can’t benefit from the scheme,have a chat with your accountant

Excerpt from the hmrc guidance here
    To help employees take advantage of this tax-free benefit, an employer can simply
    buy a cycle and cyclists’ safety equipment and loan it to an employee for qualifying