Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Scotland advice
  • gregga
    Free Member

I'm starting to plan a weeks break in Scotland with the family for my birthday in October. We are going to drive up and plan to stay a couple of days in/around Edinburgh and then head across west to maybe Lock Lomond area. There will be family stuff to do but I really want to get some riding in when up there, well it is my birthday after all 😀

So the questions are:

1) Should I take my bike?
    Might sound like a stupid question but at this stage I'm not sure about accomodation, etc and where will be secure to keep the bike all week if I'm only going to be riding it once, maybe twice. This is of course precluded if there is not actually anywhere in the area to hire some appropriate wheels…

2) Assuming we get around Q1 OK then were should I be looking to ride?
    I'm in my first year of MTB riding so nothing to mental but needs to be a little more engaging than tow path.

3) Would the answer to both Q1 & Q2 be to look for a ride centre or a package deal to suit.

Feedback appreciated.

cynic-al
    Free Member

GT and IL are 45m from Edinburgh, bike hire available at former. Ben Lomond is a great up and down ride.

No idea re secure storage at accomodation, I'd have thought it would be possible, or you could just keep the bike covered in the car.

Never heard of package deals – what is there to package?

13thfloormonk

Loch Lomondside has some great riding, up to Rowardennan the West Highland way is relatively straightforward singletrack, after Rowardennan up to Inversnaid it gets prgressively more interesting, with some nice rock and root features to negotiate. In fact, the ride from Rowardennan to Inversnaid and back would make be a nice little route.